April 26-28, 2013

The Pacific Playwrights Festival provides a gathering place for writers and theatre leaders to meet informally, sharing ideas and interests as new projects emerge in staged readings, workshops and full productions.

Photos and Bios

Click on photos for 300 dpi versions.

by Zoe Kazan
directed by Lila Neugebauer
Friday, April 26, at 1 p.m., on the Julianne Argyros Stage

Playwright Zoe Kazan. 

Zoe Kazan is an award-winning stage and film actress, who recently wrote her first screenplay, Ruby Sparks, in which she stars opposite Paul Dano, Chris Messina, Annette Bening and Antonio Banderas. She also served as executive producer. A 2005 graduate of Yale University, she made her New York stage debut in 2006 in the off-Broadway revival of The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie opposite Cynthia Nixon. In 2008, she received the Clarence Derwent Award, honoring “the most promising female and male performers on the New York metropolitan scene.” She is the only actor to be awarded the Derwent Award for three roles in one year: Come Back, Little Sheba, 100 Saints You Should Know, and Things We Want. As a playwright, her family drama, Absalom, was produced at the Humana Festival at the Actor’s Theatre of Louisville in 2009. Her second play, We Live Here, was produced off-Broadway by the Manhattan Theatre Club in the fall of 2011. While continuing to work in theatre, she has appeared in several feature films, including Sam Mendes’ Revolutionary Road and Nancy Meyers’It’s Complicated. Since wrapping Ruby Sparks, she has had starring roles in the independent films In Your Eyes, written and produced by Joss Whedon, and The Pretty One, written and directed by Jenee Lamarque. She recently completed filming The F Word, in which she stars opposite Daniel Radcliffe.

by Michael Hollinger
directed by Aaron Posner

Playwright Michael Hollinger. 

Michael Hollinger's work includes Ghost-Writer, Opus, Tooth and Claw, Red Herring, Incorruptible, Tiny Island and An Empty Plate in the Café Du Grand Boeuf, all of which premiered at Philadelphia’s Arden Theatre Company. These plays have enjoyed numerous productions around the country, in New York City, London, Paris, Athens and elsewhere in Europe. His new translation of Rostand’s Cyrano de Bergerac (co-adapted with Aaron Posner) premiered in 2011 at the Folger Theatre in Washington, D.C. A new musical, A Wonderful Noise (co-authored with Vance Lehmkuhl), premiered at Creede Repertory Theatre in 2009. Awards include a Steinberg New Play Citation from the American Theatre Critics Association, a Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle Award, a Mid-Atlantic Emmy, an Edgerton Foundation New American Plays Award, four Barrymore Awards (including the F. Otto Haas Award for an Emerging Theatre Artist), nominations for Lucille Lortel and John Gassner awards, and fellowships from the Independence Foundation, Mid-Atlantic Arts Foundation and Pennsylvania Council on the Arts. He is an associate professor of theatre at Villanova University, and a proud alumnus of New Dramatists.

by Carla Ching
directed by Shelley Butler

Playwright Carla Ching. 

Carla Ching is a Los Angeles native, who stumbled upon New York City's pan-Asian performance collective Peeling. She wrote, performed and produced with them for three years—her first theatre training. Since then, she has written TBAThe Sugar House at the Edge of the WildernessDirtyBig Blind/Little Blind and The Two Kids That Blow Shit Up. Her production and/or development work includes Ma-Yi Theatre Company, Ensemble Studio Theatre, The Lark Play Development Center, Partial Comfort Productions, 2g, Desipina & Company, Red Fern Theatre, theHegira and Vampire Cowboys. She is an alumna of The Women’s Project Lab (2008-10) and the 2011-12 Lark Meeting of the Minds. She is a current member of the Ma-Yi Writers Lab. Fellowships include the 2008 Urban Artists Initiative, 2009-10 Teachers and Writers Collaborative and 2010-11 Lark Playwrights Workshop. She has had residencies with Voice and Vision, Rockefeller Foundation's Pocantico Center and New York Stage and Film. TBA is published inOut of Time and Place. She earned her BA at Vassar College and her MFA at The New School for Drama. She is the former artistic director of 2g.

by Gregory S Moss
directed by Adrienne Campbell-Holt

Playwright Gregory S. Moss 

Gregory S Moss is a writer, performer and educator from Newburyport, Mass. His work has been seen at La Comédie Française, Clubbed Thumb, American Repertory Theater, Guthrie Theater, Playwrights Horizons, PlayPenn, Soho Rep, Steppenwolf Garage and New York Theatre Workshop. He is a 2012 MacDowell Fellow, a Playwrights Center Core Member, and the recipient of a 2010-11 Jerome Fellowship and a 2011-12 McKnight Fellowship. He currently is working on commissions from Playwrights Horizons, Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company and Clubbed Thumb. In collaboration with composer/lyricist Joe Iconis, he is creating a new musical based on the life and work of Hunter S. Thompson for La Jolla Playhouse and Broadway Across America. Recent productions include House of Gold at La Comédie Française (winner, Prix du Public) and at EST-LA (Los Angeles Times and LA Weekly Critics’ Pick); sixsixsix, Antimatter Collective, NY (Editor’s Pick, Flavorpill). Look for writing and new updates at

by Jordan Harrison
directed by Pam MacKinnon

Playwright Jordan Harrison. 

Jordan Harrison’s play Maple and Vine recently ran at Playwrights Horizons and American Conservatory Theater after premiering in the 2011 Humana Festival at Actors Theatre of Louisville. His other plays include Doris to Darlene (Playwrights Horizons), Amazons and their Men (Clubbed Thumb), Act a Lady(2006 Humana Festival), Finn in the Underworld (Berkeley Repertory Theatre), Futura (Portland Center Stage), Kid-Simple(2004 Humana Festival), and The Museum Play. His children’s musical, The Flea and the Professor, won the 2011 Barrymore Award for Best Production after premiering at the Arden Theatre Company, and his grown-up musical, Suprema, was workshopped at the O’Neill Music Theatre Conference. He is the recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship, a Hodder Fellowship at Princeton University, the Roe Green Award from The Cleveland Play House, the Kesselring Prize, the Heideman Award, the Loewe Award for Musical Theater and a NEA/TCG grant. Harrison is a graduate of the Brown MFA program and an alumnus of New Dramatists.